Question about Amp cutting out in the car

10thSVT_03

Doin it!
Established Member
I'm currently running JL Audio amps in my car. The Amp I have powering my components seems to be cutting out at times. If I lower the volume it kicks back on. Any ideas? Do I need a capacitor or maybe the amp is overheating like the fans are not working? Any help is appreciated.

S7OCK_03

WHIPPLED
Established Member
Mine would cut in and out and finally just totally went out.

I checked all the fuses and it appeared my inline fuse enclosure came unscrewed and I guess the fuse burned out. I Changed it and all was good.

I'm not an expert and this may be unrelated, but it might be something worth checking.

chrisheltra

Established Member
Mine does the same thing. I always assumed it was because I didnt have the greatest ground but never investigated.

It would always cut out if I turned the volume up too high but would come back if I turned it back down.

low03tb

THUNDER UP!
Established Member
What is your voltage? What is the voltage of the lines in you all's cars??

If you have an amp, what are the voltages before and after the amp and where did you take the signal? It's likely that the amp is shutting off because the voltage is dipping to low or going too high. Most JL's will shut off with dip (even instantaneous) below 9.5v.

Does it happen while you're in park or while driving?

Last edited:

10thSVT_03

Doin it!
Established Member
I think I need to add a capacitor. Havent had time to check the voltage but I am guessing that it would probably fix the problem.

CodyWayne718

Established Member
Capacitors are a waste of money. Do a little research on them before buying. Just trying to save you some money. What gauge wire did you use to run your amp?

greenstang1313

back in black
Established Member