Opinion on gears

jking32

Established Member
I have been autocrossing for about 2 years. I drove my 03 Cobra the last three events of 2006 and the entire 2007 season on street tires (2 different sets). I have run 6 events so far this season on Avon Tech R's. I have learned alot and have along way to go, but I am having a blast.

Autocrossing is very humbling, getting your butt kicked by 2 to 3 seconds by top runners in my class and 4 to 6 seconds by the top event runners is always an eye opener and makes you strive to learn more and get quicker.

I know the key is seat time..............and I continue to get more and more. My mods are in my signature. As most of you know, driving Mustang's and Cobra's in autocross can be especially challenging. I always find it interesting when I walk the course with guys who talk about mashing the gas and going full throttle in areas where it just isn't possible in my car, unless I want to spin out or create a cloud of smoke and lose more time. Learning to modulate the throttle is very important.

I am always looking for more grip/acceleration. Lets face it, high horsepower cars are very challenging to drive quick.

I am planning to put in a True Trac carrier in this winter and am considering changing the stock 3.55 gear ratio to a 3.73 gear while I am making the carrier change. I currently never run out of RPM in second gear on any of the courses I have run. I was close on one course. I know this will probably make traction even more challenging, but the hope is the increase in acceleration will outweight the traction issue. What do you think?

Last edited:

golden_eye

All show and no go
Established Member