Oil Cooler Options

CCS86

Established Member
Hi guys,

Does anyone have experience with these Derale oil cooler kits? http://www.jegs.com/i/Derale/259/15451/10002/-1?parentProductId=1335937

I'm having a hard time finding hands on experience about the quality.

With the heat we get in TX, and the possibility of a Kenne Bell in the near future, I'd really like to add some cooling (without dumping heat into the coolant like the Boss style cooler). Any feedback or options would be appreciated!

SID297

OWNER/ADMIN
Administrator

CCS86

Established Member
The Mishimoto kit definitely looks like it is high quality, but the cost is a bit out of hand. I work in manufacturing and just don't see the cost justification.

Comparing Mishimoto to the Derale kit, the improvements I see are:

-Better quality heat exchanger (definite value there)

-AN fittings + braided hose vs hose barb + standard hose (really just cosmetic)

-CNC adapter plate w /thermostat vs cast adapter w/ thermostat? (This is just based on photos and I'm still not sure if Derale includes a thermostat)

-Mounting bracket vs none. (I'm not too concerned about mounting it on my own)

I'm hoping that we can find some hands on experience with Derale's kit. I'm certainly not interested in plumbing something sketchy into my oil system. No drop in oil temp is worth a potential sudden loss in pressure! But I think there is middle ground in finding something durable and reasonably priced. An oil cooler is a pretty simple assembly.

Modular Racing

Authorized Vendor
Authorized Vendor
Be sure to check out the MMR kit also, they are $399 and are all 100% USA made and use AN Fittings throughout!

Coyote%20cooler.jpg

2011-2014 GT and Boss Oil Cooler Kit / Oil filter relocation