No sound after replacing head unit in Mach 460 car

DRK HRS

Established Member
I haven't had a stereo in my Mach 1 for like a year. I had a really nice Kenwood with built in nav but I moved it to my daily because that just makes more sense. Just finally getting around to putting my older (circa 2012) Kenwood back in the Mustang. Point being, everything was working perfectly fine right before I removed the stereo from the car.

I lost the old wiring harness I had on it so I got a new Metra 70-5519 and wired it up. Plugged it in, aaaand nothing! The stereo turns on just fine, no problem with power but I get zero sound at all. Not even from the door tweeters which are supposedly just powered directly from the head unit.

I brought the head unit back inside and hooked up this 12v battery I have, connected a speaker. Works fine! I get sound from that speaker. So what could be going on in the car?

I'm not a professional or anything, but I've installed at least 6 or 7 head units in different cars myself over the years, so I'm not new to this. The wiring looks fine to me. I mean, it's dead simple really. Or maybe not so much with these Mach 460/1000 systems.

Thoughts? Anything in particular I should be checking for?

EDIT: And I accidentally posted this in the Terminator section. Maybe a mod wants to move it somewhere more appropriate.

Last edited:

Huachipato

Screaming '04
Established Member
Assuming you are still using the stock amps - are you sending the signal to wake them up? I'm not sure what else would produce absolutely no sound... I bought my HU from Crutchfield and they provided all the wiring needed to make it work.

52merc

Established Member