New McLeod RXT Clutch Issue

PrestonJ

Established Member
Let me preface this with the fact that I am not a mechanic...

So back around April I had a Mcleod Racing 6918-07 RXT installed. I also had the McLeod Racing 1200 Series Hydraulic Slave Cylinder installed as well as a Ford Performance replacement pilot bearing (Thanks to BJ McCarty for giving me advice on this). Also on a previous clutch replacement I upgraded my clutch line to a stainless steel one. I did a 600-mile break-in period with casual city driving and no TCS per McLeod's instructions. Everything has been great up until about a week ago. I noticed my clutch felt a little spongey but otherwise driving was normal. After a day or two I put my car into reverse to back up and my car died... and I noticed the clutch pedal was stuck at about the 50% position. Even pressing the clutch pedal all the way down I was unable to take my car out of the reverse gear. Finally after lifting the clutch with my foot manually and messing around I got it into first and it did the same thing (stuck at 50%, car died). After this I took it to be serviced and they suggested I most likely had air in my clutch line so they bled the clutch last Friday. I picked up the car and it felt perfect, no problems at all for the next few days. Today I'm sitting at a red light and my car shut off, clutch stuck down once again. I took the car back in for service but figured I would post here to see if anyone has any insight into what the problem could be. I assume my clutch is leaking/losing pressure somehow over time? Any help would be appreciated.

Rb0891

Established Member
Premium Member
Let me preface this with the fact that I am not a mechanic...