• Welcome to SVTPerformance!
ATTENTION!
You may experience intermittent issues while accessing the site over the next 60-90 minutes, as we perform maintenance and upgrades.

New ADS Meastro Dash Kit 2013 test fit installed

Discussion in 'Interior and Exterior' started by 2012GT/CS, Oct 16, 2013.

  1. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Thanks! Do I still use the other 3.5mm cord that goes from the maestro to the deck?
     
  2. Mushtang

    Mushtang Member Established Member

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    No the 3.5mm is not used if you are using a Kenwood deck.
     
  3. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Thanks! Got everything installed and setup.. 95% of it works :)

    Here is what doesn't work:

    - Sync
    - Bluetooth Phone (it is set to OEM, will dial and ring, but no voice, suspect related to Sync)
    - Kenwood does not see that I have the rear parking assist, it still works and beeps, but it's greyed out on the screen
    - Half the steering wheel buttons - Anything audio related works, but the sync/phone button's don't.


    I suspect that I might have cut the wrong blue wire (I did NOT cut the thicker blue/red one). Could it be that simple a fix? Everything else works great, will take me quite some time to get used to navigating this head unit!
     
  4. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    I found this post from 12V Guy on another forum:

    Mushtang - Are you sure that 3.5 to 3.5 between the head unit and maestro was not necessary?
     
  5. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Just went back outside and tore it apart again, installed the 3.5mm between Maestro and the HU, and now I'm getting audio from the phone passed through to the stereo. Still no Sync, and still no outgoing voice.
     
  6. scott_0

    scott_0 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,266
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    Pa
    I have a Kenwood dnx890hd and I had to use the 3.5mm jack input on the back of the head unit, I believe thats how Sync works, so that needs to be used, that much Im confident of...........
     
  7. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Yeah, I can see that it's definitely necessary now. Still missing the OEM microphone and steering wheel controls, I suppose I must have just snagged the wrong blue wire from the Sync harness. Out of daylight for now, will try another one tomorrow :)
     
  8. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Found the right sync wire, all is well now (still doesn't recognize that I have rear parking assist, but adding a camera, so whatever).

    Of note for people who will be installing this - the Sync Connector must be plugged in for the voltmeter testing to actually work correctly. The diagram in the instructions shows the connector UNplugged - after testing every single blue wire and not finding the right one, I plugged it in and found it right away. Several hours of work for something that should have taken twenty minutes, this should be clarified in the next iteration of the instruction manual.
     
  9. scott_0

    scott_0 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,266
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    Pa
    the fact that it's so tight in that area doesn't help matters any at all smh, I was lucky however and found the right wire the first attempt
     
  10. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Yeah, that was easily the hardest part of the installation. Now I think I'm ready to take up Yoga.
     
  11. VGT

    VGT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Is there any way to tell if I have the revised button bar? Color is drastically different from everything else in the car.

    03E4DEB7-F16F-42F3-AB27-ABF5026F67FE.jpg
     
  12. Mushtang

    Mushtang Member Established Member

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    Sorry I wasn't around this weekend.

    I didn't even think there was a place to plug the 3.5 in at.... he also goes on to say:
    So, if you have Sync, the factory mic will only work with Sync (not with the Kenwood radio) and need to install the Kenwood mic if you have one of the Kenwood radios with voice recognition and want to use both. If you don't have Sync, you will need to install the mic that came with the radio for sure.

    As far as the backup goes you should be able to set that in the H/U console

    I always suggest people that purchase these things to have a professional installer do the installation, but if you don't want anyone to touch your baby, I totally understand. It just may take a little research and a little trying this and that to get it done.

    ADS has excellent support if you are installing the item yourself 866-427-2999 they also have forums that help with tech questions http://www.12voltdata.com/forum/
     
  13. Mushtang

    Mushtang Member Established Member

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    Are you using an aftermarket amplifier?
     
  14. stutter

    stutter eat me Established Member

    Messages:
    654
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Saw on pioneers website, their new radios work with this setup too
     
  15. KonaFifty

    KonaFifty Member Established Member

    Messages:
    528
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Location:
    Sac
    Hey, does our vents automatically open to bring air into the cabin from the engine bay when AC is off? Or can you close and open the vents regardless of if AC is on or off? Cant remember. Reason I ask is I always drive with the vents closed in any car. Reason it bothers me in the stang is because it actually fogs up the center of the windshield most of the time. I have the 890DNX and when AC is off, the vents are open from engine to cabin. When I press to close the vents, it turns on the AC and closes the vents. Is there a way to fix this or is the only way to get Kenwood to do a firmware update to fix this?
     
  16. 12V Guy

    12V Guy Member Established Member

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal
    No they don't. The NEX series still need a firmware update to work that has not been released and even after that, Pioneer radios do not have the Climate Screen so you cannot use with MUS1 dash kit. Sorry.
     
  17. 12V Guy

    12V Guy Member Established Member

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal
    I don't understand your question. Please explain a bit better and someone please confirm that what KonaFifty is saying is different than how HVAC worked in the stock setup. Maestro controls the HVAC so this has nothing to do with Kenwood. If it's a bug, we can correct once we understand it and can duplicate it.

    Best,
    12V Guy
     
  18. 12V Guy

    12V Guy Member Established Member

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal
    This is not revised one. I can mail you one if you PM me your address.
     
  19. KonaFifty

    KonaFifty Member Established Member

    Messages:
    528
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Location:
    Sac
    If you look at the first picture, above the MAX AC button, you see the toggle switch which shows a car with a U arrow inside the car which means there is no outside air coming into the cabin when the light is on. When I had the old system, I always had the vent "closed" meaning the light would be on and no outside air would come inside. When the light is off air from the engine bay can enter into the cabin. OEM you could close/open the vents regardless of if the HVAC was on or off. You could toggle and close the vents. This is true to every car I have ever driven or owned.

    In the Kenwood in the second picture, between the auto and dual buttons, you see the car with the u shaped arrow inside the car. When it is toggled to allow air into the cabin the toggle switch changes to a car with an arrow passing from the engine bay into the car.

    PROBLEM: BY default with AC off, the vents are open allowing outside engine bay air into the cabin. When you press the button to close the vents, you turn on the AC. Which means you cannot close the vents without turning on the AC. I have not tried with the heater to see if there are any bugs yet. This is a problem because during the summer when it is not that hot out, one would drive with the windows down. Any car will generate a lot of engine heat, this is turn brings engine heat into the cabin without giving anyone a chance to close the vents unless they have to run AC on with the windows down. I do not know if you understand but if not I can get a video of what I am saying later on...I still need to take a nap before work.

    Might as well check/fix this issue with the heater too. OEM you should be able to close or open the vent without having to have AC or Heat on. Meaning this button should work independent of itself without having any of the other HVAC functions turning on/off.



    84658-.jpg Climate.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  20. 12V Guy

    12V Guy Member Established Member

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal
    First so we are speaking the same lingo, the button you are referring to is Recirculation/Fresh Air button or RECIRC for short. I would also like to see this from the OEM panel as we checked our code and we only send the HVAC the single bit to reflect that the RECIRC button has been pressed. The OEM climate control then responds back with a status message and we update the icons based on that. We do not have any logic to turn anything on or off with the RECIRC button.

    Please tell me what happens when you press the POWER button (top center button). We believe this will turn off the HVAC system and close vents as you want. If so, nothing to do here.

    If not, please shoot a video and then PM me and I will provide a place to upload it.

    Maybe someone here could verify how it works with the OEM panel or you could pop your stock stuff back in and see.

    We have access to a Mustang but our contact is on an extended vacation at the moment.

    Thanks,

    Thanks,
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014

Share This Page