Need advice for a new shortblock for 03 cobra

Fordtech7

BudgetModParts
Established Member
I will be using the factory Eaton blower and likely the factory heads although I have gt500 heads laying around. I’m just a newbie but I need a new shortblock. The 5.3 from ford performance had my eye. The 5.0 boss block (4.6 deck) with standard stroked forged crank seemed to be safer option. And of course there are aluminum sleeves built shortblocks with standard bores and optional strike. My car is heavy and it’s a street car. My power goals are a little more than stock 03 cobra specs. Looking for reliability and longevity with that kind of power level for daily use. Looking for insight beyond do a bigger blower. I want to leave that option open for later. Thanks everyone, looking forward to the wisdom here.

tt335ci03cobra

Established Member
SVTP OG 4 Life
I recommend Livernois Motorsport. I did a lot of research before having them do my 5.3. They steered me away from some unneeded and expensive ideas which I appreciated (sheetmetal intake, higher compression, hotter cam, etc etc.)

Another excellent engine builder is John Mihovitz. Probably the best there is. He won’t do any build that could have a propensity to fail. He’s legendary. I spoke with him mid way through my build to troubleshoot timing chain failures. Exceptional guy to have had the chance to speak with. Straight shooter.

L&M I’ve heard is also excellent but I haven’t worked with or contacted them.

Fordtech7

BudgetModParts
Established Member
Thanks for your contribution. I will look into those avenues. Interested in hearing more about your build as well...

tt335ci03cobra

Established Member
SVTP OG 4 Life
I would defer to their wisdom.

My opinion* or course of action based on what you describe would be assuming 500-550whp so I would build a 650whp capable assembly for added safety.

~9.5/1 compression
•spring for an Ibeam rod to save a little weight.