Mo buyers beware- joe machens ford in columbia, mo

PaceCar328

Established Member
Just figured I'd post this here in case anybody in the area deals with Joe Machens Ford.

I am a California Resident, and had the misfortune of dealing with Joe Machens Ford. When looking for a Chevy Caprice, I inquired about the two 2011 Chevrolet Caprice PPVs That JM Ford had in stock. I was informed by Mr. Jason Lane that JM Ford had two cars, one with 105,000 miles and one with 121,000 miles that they were asking the same amount of money for. I expressed my interest in the lower mile Caprice and to negotiate a price/shipping for the vehicle to my residence here in CA. Moments after, I was informed that the lower mile Caprice was just sold, and only the higher mile unit was available.

Upon hearing this, I begrudgingly accepted to buy the higher mile unit, with promises by the seller that the vehicle was, aside from the mileage, functionally identical to the lower mile vehicle. With this assurance, I decided to buy the car and send payment/ sign the paperwork that was fedexed to me.
After the transaction was completed (on paper at least) I was browsing the JM Ford website, and found a photo of the dash of my new vehicle that appeared to be showing a Traction Control Light. THIS PHOTO WAS NOT ON THE EBAY AD. I asked the seller to confirm the light was on, and he sent me a photo showing that the light was in fact lit, and because I bought the car "as is" I should have expected problems from a used car, even though prior to sending payment, I was sold the vehicle as "functionally in great condition" and "identical to the other, lower mile unit aside from the odometer", which did not have any lights shown on the dash or any issues based on the provided photos on eBay or your website. He also informed me of a wheel imbalance issue at this time, another fact that was not included in my inquiry of the vehicle's condition prior to the sale.