Mid pipe questions

CJW04Redfire

Established Member
Hello all, I have a flowmaster cat back and stock H pipe. Love the whine that is produced and don't like the sound of an X. Imo too much throatiness in the tone.

Looking for a little more general loudness along with power. Is there any gain from an O/R H pipe or, is it a waste to not use and X pipe?

Im looking into an off road H pipe, LTH and, sticking to the flow masters any recommendations or opinions?

Sent from my SM-G977U using the svtperformance.com mobile app

TerminatoRS

Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
The old rule of thumb was x-pipe for 4valve cars and h for 2v. That has changed over the years as more and more 4v folks prefer the deeper tone achieved by an h-pipe.

As mentioned, there's no discernible power difference between the two; it's all about sound. I'd think LT's, off-road H, and Flowmasters would be a pretty loud, deep setup. Personally, I always go with catted pipes on my cars. Don't like sweating my way through emissions and don't like to smell like I just got off the lawnmower after a 15min drive.

Keep in mind that adding the LT's will likely lower boost slightly so it's possible you'll actually go down in power a touch. If it were me, I'd change out the mid-pipe and leave the headers alone. The stock units will flow just fine well beyond the capabilities of the Eaton.

DSG2003Mach1

Established Member
Premium Member
The old rule of thumb was x-pipe for 4valve cars and h for 2v. That has changed over the years as more and more 4v folks prefer the deeper tone achieved by an h-pipe.

As mentioned, there's no discernible power difference between the two; it's all about sound. I'd think LT's, off-road H, and Flowmasters would be a pretty loud, deep setup. Personally, I always go with catted pipes on my cars. Don't like sweating my way through emissions and don't like to smell like I just got off the lawnmower after a 15min drive.