Mid 90's F350 Owners

roadracer247

Established Member
Going to look at a '97 F350 4x4 w/ a 351 V8. It's only got 125k on the clock. I'm just looking for something that can be used for runs to the Home Depot, pull a bass boat, and occasionally a 2 horse trailer at the most. Are these old trucks worth trying out? Am I walking into a nightmare? I figured there's gotta be some love for these trucks around here.

MG0h3

Established Member
I think for what you want it for you'll be good. Worked on quite a few when I was a tech and while I wouldn't recommend it if you can't wrench or want to daily it, it'll do what you want just fine. Sent a few customers away in tears when they saw estimates for simple front end work and brakes. Diesels were even worse. I swear the front end components would be shot after 30k and a few years.

Dusten

Established Member
Very reliable. The solid front axle is bullet proof and easy yo work on. The 5.8 is solid, but a bit underpowered. Take care to look the trans over. The e4od isn't very stong.

choate

Drive with a sparkling glove on your shift hand
Established Member
^ I would agree. I have a 1993 F150 with the 351w and E4OD. Good truck. Price is going to depend on condition and location.

SID297

OWNER/ADMIN
Administrator
I would 100% go for it if it was a manual. It's going to be weak no matter what, but you aren't out to win races. The only real issues are rust and some of the electronic parts are getting tougher to find.

roadracer247

Established Member
I would 100% go for it if it was a manual. It's going to be weak no matter what, but you aren't out to win races. The only real issues are rust and some of the electronic parts are getting tougher to find.

Unfortunately it is an automatic...However it's a clean single cab 4x4 which is like a unicorn around here. Not sure if I want to go mad scientist with swapping transmissions. Although, a manual would be awesome!