Max tire size for 1999 GT?

MathewMM

Hello all,
This has probably been asked millions of times but I've been unable to find a definitive answer. I'm currently running 275/35r17 on all four corners of my car, as well as a 2" drop for my suspension. and I'm wondering what the max width of the rear tire could be on an 18 inch rim. I'm planning on changing my setup in the spring and wanted to get a headstart for assembling the list.

Thanks in advance!

MathewMM

An 18 by what? 9? 10? 11?
I'm still learning everything about tires my bad, I was thinking 18x10 or 18x11 but I'm not sure tbh. I've heard of backspacing but not too sure what that is at the moment. I'm trying to create a flush look at the rear with a tire larger than 275 as that's not giving me grip for the mods I have on my car. And I like the aesthetic of large tires.

Roots-type

+displacement
Established Member
I'm still learning everything about tires my bad, I was thinking 18x10 or 18x11 but I'm not sure tbh. I've heard of backspacing but not too sure what that is at the moment. I'm trying to create a flush look at the rear with a tire larger than 275 as that's not giving me grip for the mods I have on my car. And I like the aesthetic of large tires.
What are your mods and what is your budget for wheels and tires? There's several ways to go about this depending on what you want to invest.

An 18x11 will give the closest look to absolutely flush without using spacers. An 18x10 does a good job filling the rear quarter out as well. You'll want to use a 305/35 or 315/30 tire, delete the quad shocks and roll the rear fender lips to keep the sidewalls of your new rear tires free of slash marks. I prefer a 305/35 because it's sidewall is most close to stock, the 315/30 is a tad wider but the sidewalls are too short in my opinion.