Magnum transmission install problems with clutch and blown slave cylinder twice

mhyjek

Established Member
So I had a tremec conversion installed with spec twin disc clutch, JPC clutch line and the 1st time I picked up the car the clutch would make a noise during the last inch of pedal engagement. I chalked it up to twin disc and the plates rattling but after 500 miles driving 300 of highway and 150 rural 50 city the slave broke and pissed fluid. The shop stood behind work and said even thought the slave was new it could be defective and they would replace on them. So now I get the car towed back to them and they get a new slave put it in they took it for a ride and 20 minutes this time slave went again! Now I'm not a mechanic nor claim to be but I'm trying to trouble shoot what is the reason for the slave to break twice. The shop wants me to talk to tremec which I will but I think it has to be the clutch or shimming for slave. I've read other treads on Magnum installs and watched the JPC one online and I didn't see any shimming needed but they weren't using a spec. So what are your guys thoughts? I'm not looking to throw the shop under the bus and bashing the brand and type of clutch won't solve my problem looking for people who did the install and learning from their experience. Thanks

mhyjek

Established Member
He used a new OEM ford 2011+ for the 1st install then used OEM older version as per JPC for the second time around. Can it be that I got two defective ones in a row? The clutch worked well on both installs per engagement and feel but did make noise per when the pedal was depressed but went away after the clutch was fully to the floor.

blackbeast12

Dr. Frankenstang
Established Member