LT1 experience? Step inside please

1wild-horse

Purveyor of missed information
Established Member
So, I recently purchased a nice 95 Z28 convertible from a guy who spent a wad of cash trying to get an overheating condition resolved.
So the shop that did the work ran down the gambit of cooling system parts, 2 water pumps, and had the heads off twice.
I removed the radiator after I purchased the car to find it plugged solid through the center portion. Its a 39 tube radiator and only 6 tubes actually flow water real well. So I bought a new rad, installed and vac filled the system. Both rad hoses get hot. Heater core is always flowing hot water because the air stays hot out the vents.
Now, question is, ect sensor will read 220's and continue to climb, gauge will follow suit. After the rad install I never let the Hi fans turn on and see if it would cool down. Been reading all over the Ls/lt sites that for a stock t stat and fan settings this is normal. I have ZERO experience with LT1's and wouldn't know. Seems pretty damn hot for an engine to be running. Anything over midrange on the gauge would seem out of the ordinary, and I think most people would complain.
So anyone with firsthand experience would be helpful. Did these cars actually run this hot when new? Would they really get hot enough to turn on the hi speed fan if you just let it idle in the driveway?

T.Man

Established Member
Might be a dumb question but did you burp the system? Sounds like it might just have air that's trapped?

03Sssnake

TK-421
Established Member
These cars are bottom feeders. Make sure the lower radiator air damn is still there, if it’s not you won’t get sufficient air flow while driving.

1wild-horse

Established Member