Learning how to weld?

FocusSTGuy

Established Member
Hey Guys,

I am looking at the possibility of getting a welder. I have two projects I am going to be picking up (a 66 mustang) and a an 89 notchback. The 66 I want to do some suspension stuff and some other custom fabrication. The 89 is going to be a track car only.

Anyone here do welding/fab as a hobby? If so what are some good resources to do this? Any recommendation on the welder itself? I don't want to skimp on the cost here. Also any good ways to practice? Just welding junk metal ect?

Thanks,

beef97

Established Member
I was in the same situation. I ended up taking an actual welding course through a community college here in Dallas. Great program and lots of fun learning to weld. Spent a class day on oxy and then it's been all MIG welding since then. I think we'll end up doing a bit of TIG and that's about it. I'll still be a bit nervous welding on my '67 but at least I've got some basic knowledge before. I really recommend getting some instruction before welding on your cars! I really like the Miller welders that we use in class, I believe its the Millermatic 211. Not sure which process you are wanting to get into but let me know what info you've found as i'd like to further my skills! Good luck!

SixPak

Established Member
image.jpeg

I picked this book up and taught myself how to weld. We had a nice Lincoln TIG welder where I worked so practicing was no problem.
This was probably 25 years ago so there may be better books, and this particular book may not even be in print anymore. But if you can find it, it is prolly one of the better ones out there. I found it in the bookstore of a community college I was attending that had a pretty good industrial arts program.