LC1 Wide band Gauge Install tips w/PICS

MIKESTANG_SVT

Established Member
Here are some pics of how I ran my wires and made a ground for my LC1 and wide band gauge. This really isn't a specific How-To. It's just to help some people that have questions on running a good ground and where to hide there LC1. This is my first attempt at anything like this so cut me some slack. I had a muffler shop weld in my bung ahead of time. Here is where mine is located.(driver side 2 o'clock)

DSC02021.jpg

First thing I did was remove my shifter bezel. I cut a small slit in the rubber shift boot and pushed the end (with the O2 sensor) through the hole.

DSC02018.jpg

The O2 sensor can then be pulled from the top of the tranny and pulled down so that you have enough slack to screw it into your bung on exhaust pipe.(You will not screw the sensor in yet because the LC1 has to be calibrated first. Just let it hang there like in my pic.)

DSC02023.jpg

I took my LC1 unit and tucked it in the shifter bezel. Just make sure you are able to shift the gears without the unit or the wires getting in the way.

DSC02019.jpg

I then ran the wires of the LC1 right down through the console.

DSC02020.jpg

Here is the way I mounted my gauge, calibration button, and LED light.

Just drilled 2 holes the size of the push button an LED and fed the wires through.

DSC02024.jpg

Next, I took the red wire from the LED and connected it to one of the black wires from the push button. I then connected them to one 5ft 18 gauge wire. This will connect to the BLACK calibration wire of the LC1.

Then I took the black wire from the LED and connected it to the other black wire of the push button. I also connected these 2 wires to another SEPARATE 18 gauge wire. This will connect to your ground(Terminal strip)

This elongates your wires and gives you the freedom to reach all of the other connections. Quick pic of the 2 wires(yellow)

DSC02025.jpg

Now to create a ground.