Jury Duty

VegasMichael

Established Member
Got the letter in the mail last week. It's been over 10 years since I was called. They wanted me for November 2 but that was not going to work so I postponed until January 2 since I have that whole week off. I am a teacher and strangely, many school district employees have been called the past two months for some reason. Anyway, it got me to thinking, what are the pros and cons of having professional jurors? People that actually do it for a living.

Established Member
My stance is "jury of your peers". Cant get that with professional jurors. Last one I did, Wound up in a coroners inquest? Anyway, as a citizen I learned something, and I'm sure there was a pretty unbiased pool that had to agree that what we saw was accurate, even in layman's eyes. Don't really know what I'm allowed to discuss, but it was all about dead people and how they died, so you had to have reason and a solid stomach. Several people asked pointed questions as to how conclusions were reached. Wouldn't want to give that up.

VegasMichael

Established Member
My stance is "jury of your peers". Cant get that with professional jurors. Last one I did, Wound up in a coroners inquest? Anyway, as a citizen I learned something, and I'm sure there was a pretty unbiased pool that had to agree that what we saw was accurate, even in layman's eyes. Don't really know what I'm allowed to discuss, but it was all about dead people and how they died, so you had to have reason and a solid stomach. Several people asked pointed questions as to how conclusions were reached. Wouldn't want to give that up.
I hear you on the can't get the jury of your peers thing with professional jurors but if I'm chosen to serve on a murder case I assure you I'm not a murderer so how am I the accused's peer?

Revvv

Infinity Poster
Established Member
I live an odd life. I know several attorneys, and a couple judges. I have been known to spend time watching trials.