John Deere Hy-Gard in Manual Trans?

RiskyRick

Established Member
A number of people use it in autos in some really high hp apps with good results. Low on friction modifiers and deals well with gobs of heat. Comes in high and low viscosity.

Anyone have experience using it or equivalent fluids as a manual trans fluid, though?

UnleashedBeast

Engine Lubrication Guru
Established Member
I have zero experience or knowledge of this. However, after some investigation, I would not advise it.

John Deer HyGard

Viscosity @ 40°C................... 59 cSt
Viscosity @ 100°C................. 9.4 cSt
Viscosity index.................. 140
Pour point......................... -40°C
Flash point......................... 227°C

Viscosity index is low, therefore in cold weather, the lubricant will be very viscous. It won't shift very well until the transmission warms up. Viscosity @ 100*C is also higher than non-LV Amsoil ATF which is best suggested for Tremec. You can see how less viscous Amsoil is at cooler temps, with a higher VI.

Amsoil ATF

Viscosity @ 40°C................... 38.5 cSt
Viscosity @ 100°C................. 7.5 cSt
Viscosity index.................. 165
Pour point......................... -53°C
Flash point......................... 234°C

Same situation as Amsoil MTF Syncromesh. Even though the 100*C viscosity is close to John Deer, look at how much less it thickens as it cools (compare 40*C). VI is also far better. Best lubricant from Amsoil for the Getrag MT-82.

Amsoil MTF Synchromesh

Viscosity @ 40°C................... 48.3 cSt
Viscosity @ 100°C................. 9.7 cSt
Viscosity index.................. 190
Pour point......................... -46°C
Flash point......................... 218°C