Joe Gibbs oil

mach1033

Established Member
Anyone here ever use this oil? Also why is there a love/hate relationship with RP oils? Some people laughed at me when I had mentioned that I use it. I just had my motor rebuilt and I dont wont to skimp out on the " best " oil.

UnleashedBeast

Engine Lubrication Guru
Established Member
I have no experience with Joe Gibbs oil, but have read that it makes a great break in oil (they have a specific formulation for that). I would love to see some UOAs from cars using it, just for a point of reference.

You will have people bad talk any type of lubricant. There are always haters somewhere. If I had to choose a Royal Purple product, it would be HPS.

mach1033

Established Member
I have no experience with Joe Gibbs oil, but have read that it makes a great break in oil (they have a specific formulation for that). I would love to see some UOAs from cars using it, just for a point of reference.

You will have people bad talk any type of lubricant. There are always haters somewhere. If I had to choose a Royal Purple product, it would be HPS.

What oil do you use in your car along with oil filter?

UnleashedBeast

Engine Lubrication Guru
Established Member
What oil do you use in your car along with oil filter?

Currently, I'm testing Amsoil RD30 10W-30 Dominator racing oil in the GT500. The UOA reports will tell me two things.

• How long the lesser TBN (detergent & dispersent additives) can be used on the street.

• If large doses of ZDDP (a primary anti-wear additive) actually reduce engine wear in new technology engines.

Other lubricants tested in my (and other) GT500's with success:

Using 10W-30 and a 170* thermostat, my car still has 70 PSI of oil pressure at only 2,000 rpm.

Last edited:

mach1033

Established Member
Currently, I'm testing Amsoil RD30 10W-30 Dominator racing oil in the GT500. The UOA reports will tell me two things.

• How long the lesser TBN (detergent & dispersent additives) can be used on the street.