IT guys, question what road to take

spike_africa

Established Member
So I graduated about 4 1/2 years ago from college. I have a business management degree. I have always been interested with computers. But I have no idea which way to go to get involved in that. What certificates or field do you think is the best way to go these days.

wht93gted

Established Member
I've only worked at a single software company since college. Started here as an intern, and because I was kicking ass and taking names, they hired me full-time (8.5 years ago).

That said; with what I see here, certificates get you customer support jobs (on the software side of things), which are the worst jobs on the planet. I hate dealing with customers. It's a nightmare. When something makes it through support, and gets into engineering where I have to deal with it, or talk with the customer, I'd rather lick the floor of a restroom at Giants stadium on game day.

However, the Microsoft ones (MCITP or MCTS) are still the holy grail IMO. You can land plenty of IT or IS jobs as system admins with one of those. We have a huge IT dept here and most of those people are certified in specific areas for specific things; unix admins, win admins, domain admins, voip admins, etc..

Virtualization is huge right now, and there're some certs in that. With the amount of virtual technology I see on a daily basis, that's def something to consider.

offroadkarter

Professional S***poster
Established Member
Not saying "this is the definite way you should do things", but I figure I'll share my experiences so far...

I'm 21, I've been in DeVry for just about a year, going for an Associates in Network System Administration (going to roll into a BS once I get my AS). I can apply this degree towards desktop support (where I am right now), network system admin (where I'm looking to go into) or system admin.