Is it too lean with Diablo?

CWCobra

Established Member
A guy I know put a 2.80 pulley, NGK TR6 plugs, and a Diablo chip on his '03 Cobra. Then he had it dyno'd on a "Mustang" dyno, which showed consistent a/f ratios of 13.2 or so until 3900 rpm, at which point it dropped to 12.7 or so until shut down at 6000 rpms. I told him it was waaaay too lean; should be running closer to 11.0 or so. I am by no means an expert on this, and was wondering what others might think. He is planning on installing the ls1motorsport 3" stainless exhaust soon, and I think he's really risking getting even leaner still.

BTW, he had stock cat-back and silencer removed, but only turned 385 RWHP. The a/f sampling was done with sensors installed in the front O2 sensor bungs.

/puzzled/

Thanks for any advice,
CW:shrug:

JB

beautiful loser
Established Member
seems to me there was a post here awhile ago that the first run of '03 chips from *some* mfg (may have been Diablo), was running lean and they were being reburned for free.....

jtfx6552

Established Member
It wasn't the Diablo that were running lean.

Not sure who is operating the Dyno, but from what I understand the amount of load can influence where the a/f ends up. The Mustang Dyno is not just an inertial load like the Dynojet. I believe the operator can add as much load as they want.

I was told the reason the Diablo chips run so rich on a Dynojet (mine runs around 11.1:1) is because the Dynojet "underloads" the car. Maybe the dyno operator in this case overloaded the car?

Also, the a/f readings seem to change right after mods, temporarily until the computer learns what is going on. That could be a factor. Also , not sure what type of wideband was installed into the bung, but they can be off as well.

And last, but not least... a loose inlet connection, or an open breather can lean the cars out as well.