Impressions of Clearcoat vs Zaino

blowngt

Established Member
Well, I've been using Zaino for a few years now, but decided to give the Clearcoat/Poorboys products a try.

Easiest to apply - Clearcoat/Poorboys
The SSR2.5, glaze and wax were very easy to apply, with or without the porter cable. The porter cable (IMO) is a required tool when using the SSR product. I don't think you can get the same results by hand. I like the fact that the Moose wax doesn't need a lot of time to dry. The final product was as good what I am used to with the Zaino.

Durability - ????
I'm no chemist, but I would imagine that Zaino would probably last alittle longer due to the fact that it requires some time to dry before removing (this is a completly unfounded, unproven theory). Others have stated that Zaino is tuff to beat durability wise.

For swirl removal, the Zaino product cannot compair to the SSR line. But for the ultimate in swirl mark removal, I have yet to find anything that works better than the 3M polish for dark colored cars and a rotery buffer. Although very dangerous in the hands of someone without expierence, I have found no better results. Under flourecent lighting, all visible marks are gone. By contrast, the SSR did a very good job, better than average, but not as good as the 3M product.

Conclusion:
For the person looking to get a good final product, with little effort, the Clearcoat/Poorboys is hard to beat. Good value for you money. I'm switching over from Zaino!!!!

BLK_03

Established Member
blowngt said:
Conclusion:
For the person looking to get a good final product, with little effort, the Clearcoat/Poorboys is hard to beat. Good value for you money. I'm switching over from Zaino!!!!

I switched a while back... The clearkote products are awesome...are cheaper...and are MUCH easier to apply/remove while yielding similar, if not better results.

Scott P

Established Member
blowngt said: