Identifying Intercooler - Question

RioRed4v

Established Member
Probably a dumb question, but since I'm still learning about this platform I have a quick question. I'm trying to identify the intercooler on my 09. Is there any way to try and do this with the blower still on the car?

Thanks!

RioRed4v

Established Member
You will need to remove the blower to see the intercooler.
Do you feel it has something other than stock?

Damn. Figured that was the case, but was hoping there might be something I was missing.

I'm 50/50 if it has something other than stock. Previous owner wasn't the most clear on all the details so I'm just trying to figure out the pieces that I still know nothing about (plus I'm wanting to upgrade the HE). It's a fully built car, KB 3.6, over 1k whp, has an ice tank but then also has the stock heat exchanger, no front pump (only a Rule in the tank) and then who knows about the IC. Just feels like some parts were well addressed while others he hadn't gotten to yet.

PM-Performance

Established Member
I'd say if its not having an issue keeping temps realistic, I wouldn't give it much thought.
The reason for the stock HE is because of the ice tank out back. I could be wrong, but I see no need to have a bigger HE when you have an ice tank. I think the gains will be minimal, but i could be wrong

If I were to guess, with it being a KB car, it probably has a Bigun. Esp at that power level. I'd also venture to guess if it was a 1kwhp car, everything that needed to be addressed probably were. You just may not know the reason for the things done.

RioRed4v

Established Member
I'd say if its not having an issue keeping temps realistic, I wouldn't give it much thought.
The reason for the stock HE is because of the ice tank out back. I could be wrong, but I see no need to have a bigger HE when you have an ice tank. I think the gains will be minimal, but i could be wrong