How to properly jack up rear

Live Wire

Established Member
So, to clarify….

I’m looking to replace my factory catback exhaust this summer. I’m no mechanic, so what takes everyone 2 hours (per manufacturer), will take me a weekend to do. I want to get the rear end as high into the air as I can, so I’d like to get the rear tires onto my rhino ramps. Here’s the prob: my garage is not very deep. Even putting the ramps directly behind the tire and backing it up onto them will prevent me from being able to close the garage door because it will not clear the bumper. I can’t back into the garage and onto the ramps because to clear the garage door will cause me to not have the rear clearance I need.

Question: is it safe to jack up this car high enough to slide rhino ramps under the tires? If yes, how is it done safely? Chock the front and jack on each side, raising at the torque boxes a little at a time?

If not safe to raise it that high to slide ramps under the tires, I will use jack stands. Where is the safest place to place the stands if I am jacking at the torque box? Would it be to place them under the rear portion of the (factory) subframe connector?

Thanks for any feedback.

Wings65288

Established Member
Party Liquor Posse
I jack up the rear from the diff, always have. I'll use a small rectangular 2x4 to disperse the load across the diff (don't jack it up from the seam). If u can't get a jack under the rear just drive the rear tires onto some 2x12's. As far as jack stands I put them directly onto the subframe connectors.

hotcobra03

Established Member
I jack on lower control arm

If only a cat back.

You may just drive up on your ramps

These are the easiest exhaust to swap piece around
It all in the open.

4 rubber bands and 4 bolts.

The rear of tail will slide out of mount. No need to remove mount.

JetmechF16

Under Pressure
Established Member
Premium Member
Top Shelf Gentlemen