How to- Ford Racing IRS Diff Cover (didnt drop irs subframe)

usmcsvtwannabe

Not a noob
Established Member
This is my first right up and I will make corrections here and there when I find that I ****ed something up haha. All critiques are wanted, I dont want to give people bad info. I submitted something similar to this to American Muscle and got a $130 coupon so I guess it was at least decent enough. Here is what I have, *note all tool sizes arent exact, I did most of this off of memory and this was a really big project for me. I am new to the DIY stuff, but all in all it worked out pretty well. Not too bad for a 19yr old with little experience. Make sure to set aside two days at least, maybe more just in case you run into problems

Start here:
FORD RACING DIFFERENTIAL COVER 8.8 IRS
Part #50383

20121107142156.jpg

20121107032552.jpg

Tools Needed:
Socket set, metric and standard
Sledge hammer
Puller device, pitman puller
Jack
Jack stands
Flat head screw drivers
Torque wrench, capable of 8 ft/lbs and 250 ft/lbs
Extra set of hands
Differential fluid (75w-140 1.5-2 quarts)
Place the car is your workspace, put the car in gear with the parking brake on.
1.Place the car on jack stands on all four corners; place the rear end as high up as you can
2.Remove the rear tires, 21mm deep socket
3.Remove mid pipe and cat back; 15mm deep socket
4.Removing the cat back involves taking the hangers out of the rubber holding pieces, should be three of them. Use wd-40
20121107164826.jpg

20121107164841.jpg

5.Remove both brake caliper bolts, 12mm. On both sides of the car
6.Remove brake caliper on both side of the car
7.Remove brake caliper bracket bolts, 15mm. On both side of the car. (Tie the caliper higher up so its not in your way)
20121107173721.jpg

8.Remove tire rod cotter pin using a pair of needle nose pliers
9.Remove tire rod nut 15mm
10.Remove tire rod using a puller device
11.Remove lower control arm from wheel hub by removing the nut, 15mm
20121108120208.jpg