How to electronically dump boost with bypass/blowoff valve?

IUP99snake

The Shocker
Established Member
I have an AEM wideband failsafe gauge I've been using for a few months now. It has a neat feature that lets you control a timing retard, wastegate, or anything else you can think of to protect the engine if the AFR gets outside of a safe level that's been programmed in the software.

Without a MSD two step ignition, I have no way of pulling timing. I have a Procharger, not a turbo, so there's no wastegate, much less an electronic boost controller. Without a turbo and electronic boost controller, I have no way of dumping boost using a turbo wastegate.

Does anyone know how to electronically trigger the bypass/blowoff valve to open during an alarm condition to dump boost? Are there any electronically controlled vacuum solenoids that exist?

I was thinking of using some sort of solenoid or combination of solenoids that will cut off the boost signal to the BOV and open up the signal line to the atmosphere or a stored vacuum source using check valves or something.

I could attach a "y" vacuum fitting to the blowoff valve, and use 2 solenoids. One solenoid would close, blocking off the boost signal and the other solenoid would open to the BOV vacuum reference line to the atmosphere. This would open the BOV and dump boost during an alarm condition and dump boost when the AFR exceeds the upper or lower parameters set in the software.

This is really the only way I can think of dumping boost. I was also thinking of maybe using an electric exhaust cutout, but those are kinda slow.

I've read of centri people running a small pulley and using an electronic boost controller to dump extra boost at higher RPM to have more boost at lower RPM so they can have a boost curve that's more like a PD blower or Turbo. I don't want to get an electronic boost controller for my BOV. I just want to hook up a couple simple vacuum solenoids.

Any ideas?

Homer

Wildcard

Established Member