Hell Freezes Over...Paxtonshelby buys GM

PaxtonShelby

iamdrab
Established Member
@BlksvtCobra01 - here is the thread I promised. Enjoy!

I like just about any kind of car. And the older I get, the more I like big and even odd / less popular / less common cars. Here is a story of mine that started 3+ years ago and will likely go another 10 years before I have time, space, and money to finish it...

From back in the summer of 2015...

Well...it's true...and I'm really stoked about this one! It is the reason for my lack of focus and sleep over the past week.

I've been eyeing this car for a few years. It was sitting outside at the shop where my Dad's cars ('63 R2 Studebaker Avanti & '57 T-Bird) and my In-Laws' cars ('63 Studebaker GT Hawk & '48 Studebaker Commander convertible) were restored. The PO lives in New York and realized he wasn't going to get around to having it restored, so I was able to work out a deal.

Here are some details...the closer you get to the bottom the easier this will get...

2 Doors

4600 pounds

Front bench with center armrest and separately folding seat backs

3 speed automatic

4 barrel carb

Power steering, Power brakes, A/C

425 big block - 385 horsepower

1966 Motor Trend Car of the Year

Last edited:

PaxtonShelby

iamdrab
Established Member
95D67C98-BF6E-4B65-9D4E-518D9949CEAA.png
Here is Lilly with our project, a 1966 Oldsmobile Toronado. Lilly, 9 at the time, was having fun controlling the winch to pull the new toy onto the trailer.

PaxtonShelby

iamdrab
Established Member
She has 53k original miles and still has all her original sheet metal. One below average repaint was done but it was never buffed. It has a lot of imperfections but the car is really straight and is almost completely rust-free. The motor has a knock so I will have it rebuilt. The interior needs lots of love but I think it will clean up pretty well.

Hopefully my girls will prove to be great detailers. I'm going to need their help!

PaxtonShelby

iamdrab