Graduated from Universal Technical Institute (UTI). Here's my take.

Gringo185

2nd Civ Div
Established Member
After 16 months of school (core program plus Ford FACT) I graduated from UTI's Orlando campus recently. As I was getting out of the military, I did a lot of research and couldn't find what I found to be a satisfactory source of information on the school and it's programs. I either felt like things were being sugar coated by a recruiter or the opposite by disgruntled former students. Therefore, seeming as how this is a car related site, I figured I'd give my take on it by typing some question that I had before I started and then answering them. I hope it helps. (As I stated before, I attended the Orlando campus, therefore there may be a few minor discrepancies with other campuses.)

Q: Is UTI right for me?
A: Depends on what your goals are and your mechanical experience. As with any school, certain people will benefit from this school and others won't.

-I want to be a professional tech and have little to no experience working on cars. (This is the category I fell into) YES, UTI is the place for you. The core program literally starts at square one. I had always done my own oil changes, brake jobs and the occasional alternator, so I knew the basic tools and functions of the car. But anything beyond that in a conversation, I had to recall as much magazine knowledge as I could muster and bluff my way through it. The first day of school is is the first time I had ever disassembled an engine. They start by explaining every part of the engine, it's function and how it helps to create power and/or convert it into rotational energy.