Gasket or silicone between supercharger and intercooler?

Mineral_01'

Established Member
Gasket or silicone between supercharger and intercooler/ bent intercooler flange

Hey guys, I am new to the whole forced induction thing as I have just purchased an eaton swap for my '01. The question is: Should there be a gasket between the eaton and intercooler? The intercooler I have now seems to have some kind of left over silicone or sealant on it. Cant seem to find any replacement gasket for it online. If a sealant can be used, what kind should I get?

Also, the back left portion of the mounting flange on my intercooler is slightly bent (maybe like an 1/8 on an inch). Can I just carfully hammer it striaght again with a flat surface and a block of wood or something?
I posted in this forum because I figured I would get more results and it doesn't really relate to an eaton swap. Thanks for any Input.

Last edited:

exdeath

Established Member

Hey guys, I am new to the whole forced induction thing as I have just purchased an eaton swap for my '01. The question is: Should there be a gasket between the eaton and intercooler? The intercooler I have now seems to have some kind of left over silicone or sealant on it. Cant seem to find any replacement gasket for it online. If a sealant can be used, what kind should I get?

Also, the back left mounting flange of my intercooler is slightly bent (maybe like an 1/8 on an inch). Can I just carfully hammer it striaght again with a flat surface and a block of wood or something?
I posted in this forum because I figured I would get more results and it doesn't really relate to an eaton swap. Thanks for any Input.

The gasket is from Garret, its not sourced by Ford. Silicone is fine, both sides of the intercooler/blower seal are wholly enclosed in the boost/vacuum of the intake manifold with similar pressure on both sides, so its not as critical as something sealed from atmosphere, like blower to lower manifold.

Last edited:

Mineral_01'