front wheel bearing failures on open track cars?

Tobias

Established Member
Hi guys, I am new to the open track addiction and I wanted to ask have any of you had any front wheel bearing failures on the 99 & up mustangs?

I bought my car used (7100miles) from a guy who tracked the car unmodified and I have gone to one weekend of racing. When I put the car on the alignment rack today, both front wheel bearings were loose. Just a klunk while driving, no growl.

Cobra-R

Established Member
Yep, replacing front wheel hubs are a part of normal maintainance. Replace the hubs every 20 or 30 track days if you are an advanced driver.

Brian

ac427cobra

FULLTILTBOOGIERACING.COM
Super Moderator
99COBRA2881 said:
Are the NAPA hubs good enough or should this be a Ford only part?

Anthony:

The NAPA hubs are what I run. They are the indentical Koyo unit you get at the Ford parts counter. If you get a nice discount at the Ford counter you'll pay more at NAPA for it. But, you know what the really good news is about the NAPA part?! It comes with a lifetime replacement guarantee. I've used it a couple of times already. I just take it back with the balls rolling around in the bottom of the box and they ask "What's wrong with it?" I tell them "I think it must be defective?" :dw:

If you don't drive too hard you can get about 4-5,000 track miles out of your left front hub. You can get about 2-4,000 if you're a mildly hard charger and if you're a track dawg with R compounds or slicks you'll tear it up in 1,500 or so track miles. Right side hubs typically last twice as long?

Some guys just replace them every year as a maintenance item. If you're cheap like me you'll just keep a real close eye on them everytime you rotate tires.

YMMV

:thumbsup: :coolman: :beer:

TroyV

Brakes only slow you down
Established Member
interesting.. I usually replace hubs at the start of the season, and the Ford ones I get say Timken on them. I'm not sure that makes a difference..