From glasses to contacts: anyone made the change and been happy?

EB85

Established Member
First off, my vision is downright terrible. Anything beyond an arm's length away and it's blur. So, needless to say, my prescription might as well be for binoculars. Most people can only wear my glasses for a few seconds before they get a headache. On that note, I have worn glasses day in and day out since about 7th grade so somewhere nearing 20 years. I have been contemplating contacts for a couple years and even tried to wear them once but couldn't get used to it. Granted, it was for all of an hour I tried but still. I honestly think my specs are part of me. They make me look like me. I try to find some kick ass frames with each new pair to enhance my style a little and I always get compliments. OTOH, contacts seem like less maintenance (considering disposable) and if a pair gets fudged, swap new ones in and go versus spending how many hundreds on new frames. Any opinions one way or the other?

Never_Enough

Established Member
I prefer my contacts to my glasses, but I don't bother putting my contacts in if I'm just lounging around the house.

ssj4sadie

Established Member
Premium Member
If your vision is that bad what is the cause? I have keratoconus and contacts (granted they are RGPs) give me the best vision. I just haven't had the time to commit to them at the moment. They are a mother ****er for sure. During some trial wearing, I had a hybrid lens get stuck to my left eye. **** my life did that suck. When my wife came home and saved me it felt like she was about to pull my eyeball out...

99-venom

Established Member
Try a few different types. Usually your optometrist will carry a few hand out contacts that he/she can give you. I found that certain ones didn't fit my eyes right and would bug me throughout the day. At first, they take time to get used to.

EB85

Established Member
If your vision is that bad what is the cause?