Forged rebuild of 2001 4v

Slowings

Established Member
I got my cobra a few months ago and it’s come to my attention that it will definitely be needing a rebuild in the not too distant future. I want to go forged as I do plan on adding boost in the future. I’m really new to this whole idea, however I plan on working with my cousin who has rebuilt many engines.

Basically I just want to know anyone’s input on what the best thing to do is, rebuild kit wise? Like I said, fairly new to the idea so anything I can do research wise also would be greatly appreciated, just really want to future proof this as much as possible.

Any help is appreciated, thank you!

Sent from my iPhone using the svtperformance.com mobile app

Slowings

Established Member
Been waiting about a year for a response hopefully my patience will be rewarding for the both of us!

black4vcobra

Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
Your question has been covered hundreds of times if you search. Besides that, nobody really frequents the How-to subforum. You'd be better off posting in the standard forums. With that said, you could buy a forged rotating assembly from a vendor like MMR or you could find some used 03/04 Cobra rods or newer boss rods and buy the appropriate pistons. There are bearing sets available if you look around but stock seem to hold up well for guys.

Yossii

Established Member