Ford Mechanics Chime in Please

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
My brother in law, wife and 2 kids are here from Oregon. They did a family vacation(Think Griswald's) and drove here. Plenty of stops on the way including the mouse house in Orlando.
The story...they have a 2013 Fusion/Hybred SE with 130K on it.
They issue, it started making a whining sound on deceleration and they're a bit worried about the noise. They started noticing in on the way here from Orlando. I guess some research by them says this is common and a bell housing/trans issue that deems replacement.
The problem, they're worried about driving it back home 3,500 miles. It's getting looked at Wednesday morning. I'm sure they would hate to buy a new vehicle while here.
Main issue, at my house till the issue is resolved, and you know the old saying, fish and guests stink after 2 days. Especially family. lol

CSCOBRA03

Established Member
I was a Ford tech for 47 years and I know that the Fusion Hybrids are very reliable. With that said things can happen, here is what I would suggest take it to a Ford dealer and have it diagnosed maybe it's just a simple repair like a wheel bearing or halfshaft bearing. After they know what's going on they can make an intelligent decision on what to do.

bglf83

Established Member
They can always rent a car one way to get home in the worst case scenario.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
I was a Ford tech for 47 years and I know that the Fusion Hybrids are very reliable. With that said things can happen, here is what I would suggest take it to a Ford dealer and have it diagnosed maybe it's just a simple repair like a wheel bearing or halfshaft bearing. After they know what's going on they can make an intelligent decision on what to do.
Thanks, going to one on Wednesday morning.

kevinatfms

Ex-Ford/Kia/Hyundai Tech
Established Member
Premium Member