Forced Induction: Whipple or Twins

Max97COBRAtkd

Established Member
It seems this topic is almost taboo in the GT350 world so I would like to bring it up. I see quite a few Whipple GT350's on Instagram making great numbers. I don't see many of the Hellion twin kits out there. I doubt it's just because of cost though. Here's what I see as far as pros/cons:

Whipple: More power, helps with lack of torque down low, need beefed up timing components, oil pump gears, etc to help the flat plane crank take the extra stress. Heat soak is the real demon here, especially if you track it.

Hellion Twins: more power, goes perfectly with the way the motor works already, extra engine bay heat, but won't heat soak nearly as quick as a Whipple, especially on really low, say 5psi boost. I honestly don't see anything wrong with it and it could only help track times, whether on the strip or road course. I am a rookie so you are welcome to school me on road courses.

I see these things making great power on really low boost and crazy high power on high boost. Now, I know warranty comes into play here too. No way I would void my warranty to do this personally. Once it's up though, time to play so just curious on opinion on this from current owners of all three, N/A, Whipple, & Hellion Twins.

Hoping to get in a GT350 soon myself so I need to learn myself on this new platform. Going to test drive one with 3k miles on Friday. Super excited.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using the svtperformance.com mobile app

ANGREY

Established Member
Some other considerations:

1) The whipple option also presents the challenge of the hood and clearance. It's resolved (bandaid) by using lowering engine mounts, but for those already concerned about ground clearance, it's basically just dropping the powertrain lower so it'll fit under the hood. I have yet to see an aftermarket hood/top side solution.