Engine swap parts list help

StangSteph

Established Member
Ok, I'm sure there are several threads pertaining to some of this, but I cant find a good full list of parts that I'll need.

I've got a 2002 mustang v6. I am swapping the motor for a 97 mark viii 4v.
I am looking to figure out all the pieces I need to complete the swap, including the little things. Im not a mechanic so I dont know exactly what all is there.
Let me know what needs to be on the list!! I'll be sure to try to add to it. If there are any notes or info or specifics I need to know, post it up. Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys!
btw, Im not worried about power right now, just what I need to make it driveable.

So here is what we've got as of now...
-4v engine & accessories
-new gaskets
-t45
-oil pan
-driveshaft
-clutch
-fuel rail (hopefully it will work alright)
-4.6 engine harness, dash harness
-4.6 computer
-motor mounts
-hydroboost
-4v lt headers
-steeda clutch cable, firewall adjuster, clutch quadrant
-throwout bearing, pressure plate kit, flywheel bolts, pilot bearing
-overflow tank bracket
-flywheel
-oil pickup tube
-radiator, fan
-coolant tank, cap
-power steering tank

Bought and Waiting for

-new harness WITH coil pack plugs...

What we need...
-hoses
-mid pipe and catback
-gauge cluster
-more paint!
-

-rear end (at some point)

++ Talk to insurance about motor swap

Last edited:

LilRoush

M112'd Roush x2
Established Member
Dash cluster.

What front suspension are you running? What fuel pump are you going to use?

Have you talked to your insurance company about it? Many won't insure vehicles that have older motors swapped in (technically it's not street legal at that point due to EPA regulations). If you don't tell them about the swap, it's insurance fraud, so don't skip that step.

konradr

Ford Mustang
Established Member
Dash cluster.

What front suspension are you running? What fuel pump are you going to use?