Engine Splash Guard

TheRamie

Established Member
I installed a new foose grille the other day, and noticed my engine splash guard was in pretty poor condition, it feels like reinforced cardboard, and has ripped at some of the attachment points on the bottom of the bumper cover. So i thought well that should be cheap to replace, no its over $200 for that flimsy piece of reinforced cardboard. Does anyone know of a cheaper place to buy this or would i just be better off spending the full $600 and getting the whole boss splitter and splash guard.

noldevin

Established Member
Both are valid options. Unfortunately you probably won't find it cheaper. I don't recommend ditching it as it does help keep engine bay pressure down which reduces lift and helps with cooling.

TheRamie

Established Member
Thanks for the input, guess ill just bite the bullet and pay the cost, eventually, ran it up to 140 yesterday and it didnt fly off yet surprisingly

wr450

Established Member
I'm no expert but if u refer to the hood shaking thread from last week I posted on it if it were me I'd run it just get some quarter sized fender washers for the factory screws and never worry bout it again

wr450

Established Member
I think I put them on all the majority are along the front along the splitter u ain't never gonna see them I might have painted them flat black with a chassis paint but I'm picky like I said only time your gonna see them is from underneath and u don't need em on every screw hit up a good hardware store not home depot take a screw in fender washers have a small hole in them it's a 15 minute job

GBCoyote

Established Member
It will cause hood shake on some cars that decide to rip off just SOME of the splash guard. Everyone running tubular K members don't run splash guards, because there's no place to mount the guards anymore.

BLKSUNSHINE13

Established Member