educate me on buying a house

BadMoFo

Get Some!
Established Member
ok I figure this year would be just as good of a time to buy a house as any. But I have never done it before so please give me some info. background on me I am 30 years old, served 8 years active duty Marines so I quailify for VA loan if I want. What do I need to look for? do I need to get a realator? and so on and so on. shoot away!:beer:

Mr. Mach-ete

Liberals Suck
Established Member
If you have good credit and some money to put down you should walk away with a good deal. It's a buyers market for sure. Get yourself a reputable real estate agent to help you out. Good luck!

ff500

Established Member
check your local paper for open houses and go check them out, a realtor may be able to pull up on mls homes in your area and in your price range.

Mommas Donuts

Established Member
I am a Realtor and Appraiser, If you were in Utah I would tell you NOT to buy right now unless you have too. I don't know your market though, do you? Do your research and talk to professionals in the field about what is happening with housing. Read your local paper specifically the Real Estate section. Go on line and look for figures/facts in the areas that you want to buy in. I suggest calling a handful of appraisers in your area and asking them the 411 on housing, what they expect. I wouldn't suggest calling a Realtor/Sales Agent because they will all tell you it is a perfect time to buy and why they are perfect for you. Just my .02 though, good luck.

ff500

Established Member