Drag Radials and winter storage

98 svt

Established Member
Premium Member
This winter, I will be storing my car under a carport that is attached to my house. The driveway is paved asphalt. I'm wondering how susceptible MT E/T Streets are to flat spotting. I usually air up my tires to max PSI for storage, but this is my first year with DRs.
I considered some FlatStoppers, but I dont think I need them.

96dreamer

Established Member
I'd put it on jack stands if possible, seems like a cheaper solution than the race ramps. My NT05R's had noticeable flat spots after sitting for the winter. They went away after a few miles but it was definitely noticeable.

DSG2003Mach1

Established Member
Premium Member
Double check what MT says the acceptable temp range is, they might need to come inside

98 svt

Established Member
Premium Member
Double check what MT says the acceptable temp range is, they might need to come inside
"Mickey Thompson suggests that you keep tires away from extreme high and low temperatures."
They are not really specific as far as temps go.

derklug

Seriously? No, never.
Established Member
Premium Member
Mine say to bring them inside and reduce tire pressure to below 20psi

CobraSam

Established Member
Do you periodically run your car throughout the winter? If so, just move it forwards or backwards a few inches each time, you’ll be fine.

VRYALT3R3D

Show me your Members
Established Member
You should remove the wheels and put them in storage in a warm area. It is very bad advice to leave them on the car in freezing conditions.

The moment the tires are exposed to freezing conditions, glassification occurs and the tire compound deteriorates and becomes permanently damaged.

Last edited:

CobraSam

Established Member