DIY Projector retro...

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
I have never been a fan of HID kits being installed into halogen headlights. They always throw a dangerous amount of glare at other drivers, make your HI beams useless, and IMHO leave your car look like a cheap POS at night. I had them installed in my Cobra for all of one drive to work before I pulled them.

This has been on my list of things to do for a while now so with some extra time on my hands I went ahead got started. I am not going into detail on how to remove your bumper, wire your HI/LO HID kit or how to bake open your headlights, just search for it and you will find more than enough info.

This posting is nothing more than information for anyone who likes to do things on their own and is in no way meant to be an all inclusive set of directions. With that being said if you choose to do your own retro proceed at your own risk and have fun with it, its really easy to do and worth while. I have absolutely ZERO desire to do this for money so please don't ask me for a quote.

Parts...
Morimoto H1 projectors, will include Shroud, projector, rubber gaskets, alignment plates, bulb mounts, bulb clips, mounting nut.
Bi-xenon: Morimoto Mini H1 4.1 - HID Projectors from The Retrofit Source Inc

9007 HI/LO HID kit (includes HI/LO harness/relay)
OR
9007 LO beam only HID kit (no soldering required, no relay harness included)

H1 HID bulbs (these are what will be installed in your projectors)
HID Kits, BMW Aftermarket Bumpers & Lighting, DEPO - DDM Tuning

Spare set of headlights (optional)

Flat black spray paint

Tools for retro...
Flathead screwdriver
Phillips screwdriver
Hacksaw
File
Needle nose pliers
Solder gun (only for HI/LO)
Utility knife
Painters tape
Pencil
Thin ink pen (used only to remove the connector from the HI beam wires on the projector)

Step 1