Distinguished Warfare Medal SMH

jerrad

RIP Gump
Established Member
I think I already know the answer but what does everyone think about this? lol
It's a sad day when a guy in Vegas piloting a drone will get a combat award that outweighs someone kicking in doors.

"The Defense Warfare Medal will soon become the fourth highest combat decoration in order of precedence pushing the Bronze Star down a notch to the fifth highest combat decoration. Recognized as the third highest award stands the Distinguished Flying Cross."

Last edited:

svtfocus2cobra

Opprimere, Velocitas, Violentia Operandi
Established Member
It's freaking stupid. Didn't know it was put above the bronze star which makes even less sense.

JetmechF16

Under Pressure
Established Member
Premium Member
Top Shelf Gentlemen
Just wanna head this off at the pass. I am a Sensor Operator for the predator and believe me when I tell you nobody in my squadron that I have talked to about this agrees with it's placement. That being said, I'm sick of hearing people bitch about my career field when you do not know 99% of what we do (due to OPSEC concerns). Sure we are not overseas "kicking in doors" but next to that this is the greatest enlisted career field out there in terms of direct effect on the war effort (I was a jet engine mechanic for 5 years before this). I have been doing it for 5 years and have thousands of hours of surveillance, supporting troops on the ground (whether in contact, patrols, etc), and direct application of lethal force to "bad guys".

I'm not sure where all the jealousy and hate comes from because you never hear from anyone in the community even talk about our job. Anytime something is announced about flight incentive pay, us getting our own wing patches, afsc, and now this medal, the floodgates of whiny bitches open up all across forums and article comment sections.