Cooling Temps and Oil Pressure for 99 Cobra around California Speedway

SVECobraR

Established Member
Hey guys i'm going to be taking my 99 Cobra to California speedway on August 12th and its going to be a really hot day and i was a bit concerned with my cooling temps.

I have a 185 degree thermostat installed with a canton aluminum coolant reservoir and everything was flushed out and cleaned up last august when i replaced the engine. I've put maybe 500 miles on it since.

Now my question is what temps are considered acceptable around the track as i've noticed around town on a hot day with the A/C on the car can climb up to 210-215. I'm already a bit concerned about those temps considering i put a 185 degree thermostat on.

Also what oil pressure range is considered acceptable. My gauge shows 23psi while idling (when warmed up) and about 70-75psi when on the throttle.

Thanks in advance

Berj

99COBRA2881

Piss on Fox Sports1
Established Member
Berj,
Those temps and pressure is acceptable for a dohc on a hot day while being tracked. Do you have an aftermarket water temp gauge installed?

SVECobraR

Established Member
Yes i have a speedhut water temp and oil pressure gauge. I know those temps would be acceptable around the track, what worried me is the fact that it got up to those temps while driving around town.

99COBRA2881

Piss on Fox Sports1
Established Member
Around town theres not enough airflow through the radiator to cool the engine properly.

At speed around the race track you'll see those same temps pushing the car hard, thats if the cooling system is in good order.

My plan is to box my radiator but I ran out of time so I added a 3" tall rubber flap below the radiator, it lowered water temps 10+° on a 100° day.

David Hester

Established Member
Um.......