Coil Over suspension question?

Roots25

Roots25
Established Member
Hi, I am brand new to autocrossing and road racing. My dad raced for years and its my turn to step into the racing world. I have an 86' GT mustang with an aftermarket K member to lighten and free up some space. I need to go with a coil over kit.

My question is what is going to give me the best handling for my buck. I don't mind spending extra dollars to get a car that handles. Ive doing a 5 lug conversion also and wasn't sureif there would be any hick ups with that.

thanks soo much

chris

wheelhopper

Established Member
My first question for that fox body is, have you upgraded the brakes? Fox brakes sucked.

As far as bang for the buck, I would not spend anymore money on mods, except for safety and maintenance stuff. Right now your car can probably handle more than you can throw at it. At least wait till you have done 1 event to find out.

Be prepared to make this hobby a big part of your life. It is addictive.

Jimmysidecarr

Semi user friendly
Established Member
My first question for that fox body is, have you upgraded the brakes? Fox brakes sucked.

As far as bang for the buck, I would not spend anymore money on mods, except for safety and maintenance stuff. Right now your car can probably handle more than you can throw at it. At least wait till you have done 1 event to find out.

Be prepared to make this hobby a big part of your life. It is addictive.

The only mod I can recommend for someone new is MAYBE brake cooling ducts.

Other that that, you will be best served to keep that money in your Open Track account for entry fees, motels, fuel, brake pads, brake fluid and street compound tires.

As you can see that stuff is not free, and can slow down your progress as a driver, if a shortage of funds caused by a coil over purchase prevents you from doing, even one more track event.