Chasing dream cars

Rocket254

Established Member
You know that line from Heath Ledger's Joker where he says "I'm a dog chasing cars. I wouldn't know what to do with one if I caught it."? Well, yeah, I'm there...

Since I was old enough to know what Hot Wheels were, I have been a dog chasing a dream car. Specifically, a Viper. What started as something I saw as the title character in that crime drama NBC show turned into some kind of weird, mythical thing that I'd never be able to obtain as a kid growing up in a household where meals had to be skipped more often than I'd like to admit. Some sort of "You Made It" goal that wasn't even fully about the car anymore, if you will.

Once I graduated college, the dream was alive and well but, having my life priorities somewhat in order and being a cheapskate that would make Fred Mertz proud, I knew it would take a long time before a dream car became a priority...

Fast forward to today. Just turned 34, recently engaged to the girl of my dreams, and blessed that we both have solid careers that we are building. I own a few shingles of my home with the local bank and we just sold her home for a decent profit in a hot market. Between our spending habits, cash on hand, and some very fortunate investment decisions last year, I am sitting on more cash/investment assets than I ever thought I'd see in my life. One of those "don't pinch me or I'll wake up" kind of situations for me. I know this is all relative. You SVTP ballers wipe your asses with the money I'm talking about.