• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Cell Phone Scammers Driving Me Crazy - Any Viable Solutions??

Discussion in 'Road Side Pub' started by Mojo88, Dec 5, 2018.

1. Mojo88

Mojo88 "Hammer" Time Established Member

I've been using AT&T cell service for 15 years. The past few years have witnessed an incredible surge of spam/scam calls on my cell. It's pizzing me off to no end.

For the past 6 months, I've been using HIYA, which is a well-known spam blocker with generally good ratings. HIYA works OK, but calls still ring once or twice even after I 'block' them. Plus, even after blocked the robocaller still often leaves a voice message (IRS demands, Arrest warrants issued.. police on way to pick me up, etc, etc), and the calls are cluttering up my phone logs endlessly. Yesterday I had in excess of 30 calls logged, most of which did not ring (only because I am in "Do Not Disturb" mode), and I had 5 voicemails from assorted robocaller machines. :mad::mad::mad::mad:

My phone is an older Samsung Note3 running Android 5.0. I would be most appreciative of any suggestions to mitigate or eliminate the endless calls. I am willing to pay just about anything, or switch carrier, or perhaps even get new cell number.

Anyone got any workable solutions for this issue, or maybe can steer me to someplace online that has some answers???? Thanks

2. kevinatfms

kevinatfms Ex-Ford/Kia/Hyundai Tech Premium Member Established Member

Robo calls are impossible to get removed from but if its a real live person you can have so much fun with them.

The best one is to start giving them some bogus information then tell them you need to go and plop the phone down. Go about your business and see how long they stay on the phone. So far my best time is close to an hour from some chinese woman.

I doubt we will all be free of spam callers but with a few minutes of your time you can get the ones that aren't good at what they do.

3. RDJ

RDJ ZERO shits given Established Member