Cabin insulation...

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Did a quick search and did not see anything real definitive so I will pose the question here. After about an hour of driving in ~90F my trans tunnel near the fire wall reads 130F down to 120F after the front seats while the area where the front floor mats are reads 100F on both sides. I am looking advice on how to keep the radiant heat from my exhaust/engine out of the cabin so that my AC with killer chiller can keep up and keep the boss (wife) comfortable.

I would prefer to go with an insulation under the carpet, I would like to stay away from any insulation that requires a sprayer if at all possible just because I dont have any air tools. I would be open something under the car as well but again would prefer to stay away from anything that is sprayed unless it is a spray can or rolled on. If anyone has any before/after temp comparisons I would love to read about your experience.

The only product I am considering so far.

http://store.secondskinaudio.com/heat-wave-pro/

Woody6799

Established Member
The only way I would consider doing this would be extra heat shielding mat between the trans and the tunnel, and then more inside the cabin under the carpet. I am not sure if Dynamat has any insulation value but there is a guy on here somewhere that was messing with some heat shielding on his IRS I believe. I will poke around and see if I can find the link.

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Time for an update, after some thought I decided to give the method below a try and so far I am very happy and I will call this project a success.

http://www.fordmuscleforums.com/interior-articles/488907-budget-insulation.html