Boost controller on procharger

slvr35th

Established Member
Ok guys im new to this whole bov, boost controller thing. Im thinkin about doing a boost controller on my procharger. I was going to put a smaller pulley on it to spin the charger faster at lower rpms but still stay at 12 psi. I really dont know how a boost controller works, and the difference between a bov and wastegate, can someone please help with this?
Nick

slvr35th

Established Member
there is a thread that talks about it, i just dont know about what i would need and stuff, so i was hoping a turbo guy could help me on this.

goat-ee

Established Member
You need a wastegate, don't know all of your specifics, but probably a 38mm or 44mm should do it. I haven't done it on a supercharged car, but my guess would be that you would just put the wastegate on the discharge side of the head unit and depending on rather you have a blow through or draw through maf, you would either vent it to atmosphere (Blow Through) or ??????? on the draw through. Not sure on the draw through?

00BlackGT

Established Member
well being pro-charged im assuming that u are blow-thru.

it looks like you could run a tial mv-s wastegate right before the intercooler with a manual or electronic boost controller and then run a light spring (7-10lbs) depending on where u want your boost level at a min.

mine is pullied from the previous owner at sees 10psi at 5500 so my tuner lowered my rev limit to 6100k, to prevent me from making to much boost. But if i went this route i could open her back up but keep the same powerband!

SpittingCobra

Established Member
I'm building my motor at the moment. This is the setup I want to run as well. Seems way more practical. I'm curious how it would sound though.. You'd hear boost bleeding off at the upper rpms. I always thought it'd be great for the "race tune" so you never have to change a pulley... ever!

IUP99snake

The Shocker
Established Member