Blowing starter fuse

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
I'm trying to help a buddy troubleshoot a no start condition. Everytime he turns the key it blows the fuse under the dash. He's looked through the harness and can't find anything rubbed through or obviously shorted out. So far the clutch switch and starter have been replaced. They were replaced before the blown fuse was discovered. Anyone been through this before? I'm scratching my head on this one.

Last edited:

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Sounds like something is shorted to ground, if he has a multi meter have him pull the fuse/battery and start checking the entire circuit to ground in all key positions.

To clarify, check the circuit of the fuse that blows.

Last edited:

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
Not much to go on to try and help. What car? What year? Which fuse blows? Does it blow in the ON position or the START position?

Its posted in the Terminator section so you can safely assume it's a 2003 or 2004 Cobra. Which are the same car. It blows in the start position.

Sounds like something is shorted to ground, if he has a multi meter have him pull the fuse/battery and start checking the entire circuit to ground in all key positions.

To clarify, check the circuit of the fuse that blows.

Yeah. He just can't find the short. But I did some looking yesterday and found the radio and starter circuit are on the same fuse. I passed that info on to him.

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Is he using a meter or just eyeballing everything??? Tell him to go around and reseat all connectors in the circuit and check the connectors as he goes. If he does have a meter have him also check circuits in the adjacent wires in any shared connectors.

hotcobra03

Established Member
Any ants on fuse boxes?

Just dealt with a short issue on a f150

It’s time to shorten the circuit to locate section of harness short is in