Big Blocks: What breaks first?

RedVenom48

Let's go Brandon!
Established Member
BBF, BBC, 426 Hemi

Assume forged pistons, tool steel wrist pins, forged rods, forged crank, proper ring gaps, bearings, race valve springs etc.

Rev to 8000 rpm in the 1/4 or 1/8 with boost behind a PowerGlide.

Besides your wallet, what breaks first and when?

GTSpartan

Yield right!!!!
Established Member
Impossible to answer with any sort of objectively.

Will be a fun discussion nevertheless! The original Hemi based architecture was used for a long time and in large numbers outside of the factory in various pro-level applications. It is still today, the basis for Top fuel and Funny Car engines, so that says a lot about the design.

black4vcobra

Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
I have no personal knowledge of any of those big block engines but I always found it amusing that given a sufficiently strong rotating assembly, the Windsor small block splits in half somewhere between 6-700 hp.

I'm sure those blocks have their limits as well but idk what they are.

CobraSam

Established Member
I have no personal knowledge of any of those big block engines but I always found it amusing that given a sufficiently strong rotating assembly, the Windsor small block splits in half somewhere between 6-700 hp.

There’s nothing amusing about splitting your block...I never found it funny anyways.

Corbic

Established Member
Premium Member

Yeah, block integrity of the old stuff is shockingly poor.

I've seen those 302's split at 350whp. Mainly an RPM issue as I recall.

Other issues the old blocks have is main caps, etc.

black4vcobra

Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
There’s nothing amusing about splitting your block...I never found it funny anyways.

Well ya, sucks for the guy that it happens to. I don't mean that it's funny, just interesting and surprising.

Yeah, block integrity of the old stuff is shockingly poor.