Been a long time

PSUCOBRA96

Established Member
I have not posted or hung out around here very much in the last 3 or 4 years. I have had other priorities, but still have my car. Since that time there have been many changes in technology. I have worked over c-heads, c-head intake, and an extra block that I have been holding for like 6 years. The plan was to put a beefy stroker kit in it and add boost. maybe a turbo system by parting it together from pieces from On3 and other companies.

Well I am looking for other opinions as it looks like used coyote motors are much cheaper. I have a contact who thinks I can get them for around 2k. Looking at the conversion kit from ford I can get that for another 1500. I've watched a video or two and feel like I could do the install myself. I have garage space and all the time I want. Wondering what everyone else thinks and what if any new goodies I may be unaware of for our lowly B-C headed 4.6s if any? The idea would be to sell the C-heads/intake/ and block and see what I could get to even out the cost. I likely would just keep the other motor as a spare. Not sure I could get enough for it to make it worth selling. It be nice to have a 400 HP motor NA and have lots of room to grow. The bottom ends also seem to hold up to more boost without new rods and pistons compared to the 4.6. So that would save money. if I don't have to dig into the bottom end for awhile

Yes I cold go buy a Shelby and be far ahead, but I have had this car since I was 17. IT was a gift from my father and I just wont part with it, but I do want to make it compete a little more with today's cars.

Any thoughts?

Also the plan is to get the car repainted in a few months as time has faded the paint to a light reddish pink. I rarely drive it because of this.

F8L BYT

Established Member