Are there significant differences in oil filters?

Slightly Motivated

Stormtrooper
Established Member
I have seen a couple of oil filter tear down videos, yet nothing that left me thinking "man that filter is by far superior". It seems like the concept of an oil filter is pretty simple, and unless a company is using inferior parts I don't really understand how one could be better than the other. I'm also curious if the price of filters, generally, correlates to the quality of the filter? I am by no means a mechanic, and hardly do any of my own work. Yet everytime i've changed my oil i have used Mobile1 filters even though they seem to be the most expensive. Maybe just good advertising getting the best of me?

Iv also heard alot of negative things about Royal purple, id be curious to know where all the negative associations come from? Thanks :beer:

oldmodman

Established Member
Quality and material of anti drainback valve is one difference that is important.

Housing burst pressure is another. A quick rev on a cold start could, with some types of engines, build enough pressure to pop one like a balloon.

Then there has been a ton of testing on filter media and length of the unfolded media.

UnleashedBeast

Engine Lubrication Guru
Established Member
What oldmodman just posted is the key.

I'd like to focus deeper on media type, as current nano-fiber techonology (micro glass as Royal Purple calls it) is superior to all other cellulose and other synthetic blend media.

Nano-fiber offers better filtration, better efficiency to smaller microns, yet still be as nonrestrictive as lesser medias offering less filtration ability. Nano-fibers also contain wire backing so the media doesn't deform during use, metal end caps, and strong inner metal support cylinders. Not to mention a superior adhesive so it all stays together.