• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Anyone with the Holley Dominator system?

Discussion in 'Engine/Tuning' started by cobra2547, Aug 29, 2016.

  1. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,266
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    4 inputs is so restrictive, I'd never do that. Definitely get the Dominator. I forget what I had on the MS3 but I quickly used those up and had to add an additional IO box via CAN to get more inputs and outputs.
     
  2. oldstv

    oldstv Well-Known Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    What is the difference between the Dominator and the Terminator?
     
  3. SID297

    SID297 OWNER/ADMIN Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    46,924
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    I’ve been thinking about doing a project with a Holley Dominator system. Def would like to hear more opinions.


    Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com
     
  4. y2k2gt

    y2k2gt 2V PoWereD Established Member

    Messages:
    1,053
    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ohio
    Lots of support with the Holley on the web.
    Here is a FB group for Modular powered cars with Holley.
    Mod Motor W/ Holley EFI
     
  5. tt335ci03cobra

    tt335ci03cobra Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,813
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    I’ve decided to go with a Holley dominator, 7” and pull the factory wiring out. It’s about 80lbs of wire and junk believe it or not. Good 150lbs weight saving between that and the seats I’m planning.

    I went for the dash because keeping the factory cluster meant piggy backing the stock computer but I didn’t like the limitations personally.

    I’m going Dominator all out for the 8 ports so I can do boost by driveshaft speed backed by a wheel speed sensor, or boost by rpm, but most importantly for hooking up widebands and sensors for spark or fuel cut, retard ignition, manage boost spike or drop, etc etc

    The stock computer is very limited and very dangerous with high hp builds. Lose a reluctor wheel on the stock computer and kiss some stuff good by. With a properly outfitted dominator/tertiary components, it would pull fuel and retard timing immediately and save the mill.

    I know @SlowSVT meant well but honestly having researched for hours, the stock computer is very dangerous for high hp builds.

    I made 1208whp on a stock computer scaled tables and sct piggy backed from an expert. 96% fuel trim. That’s 1/25 cycles being off... builders words “never drive that file, it’s a dyno file with me in the car doing the pull so I can shut it off if my equipment picks up knock”
     
  6. Eatonualive281

    Eatonualive281 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,203
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Anytown, USA
    Yeah, Im also going with the Dominator. Sky is the limit with all the extra inputs and outputs. It will control virtually anything lol. Much safer than the stock ecu no question.
     
  7. tt335ci03cobra

    tt335ci03cobra Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,813
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    I love that the lcd is fully programmable. You can hop on an editor like adobe illustrator and make anything you want as a background.

    Also, ya the 7” is small, but just get a nice bezel background and put some physical gauge pods there, he’ll throw your boost controller, truboost, Ngauge or wideband and pods in tastefully spaced/set.

    I can’t find an image this second of what I’m saying but you can get the idea from these, with the 7” digital dash obviously taking the place of the analogue speedo/rpm

    B542D37B-6A86-4615-B776-E0F0980F0EF6.jpeg
    5479BDF0-EF96-424A-8FF2-FCB7E39B69A0.jpeg

    Edit much closer
    DE6F42C6-4218-41F0-8586-7EDEAC0BB42B.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
  8. Eatonualive281

    Eatonualive281 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,203
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Anytown, USA
    Yeah thats really nice. Holley makes a larger screen now but the 7in is perfect imo. My intentiion was to use the DD and a gauge or two just like that pic! Awesome stuff right there!

    Does the Holley ecu have a display for fuel level?
     
    tt335ci03cobra likes this.
  9. tt335ci03cobra

    tt335ci03cobra Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,813
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    From what I saw, the Holley unit can present everything you can assess from a wideband system and sensors, you can even hook up tire pressure monitors if you wanted to.


    Edit found this, seems good

    Fuel Gauge on Digital Dash & Dominator ECU
     
  10. tt335ci03cobra

    tt335ci03cobra Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,813
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    USA
  11. badcobra

    badcobra It's Fast Established Member

    Messages:
    2,141
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Mpls/St Paul, MN
    Yes sir
     
  12. badcobra

    badcobra It's Fast Established Member

    Messages:
    2,141
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Mpls/St Paul, MN
    Get your parts list together and call my brother at Finish Line in Denver. You will not get better pricing on any of the Holley stuff.

    Call Jonny 720-201-1834
     
    y2k2gt and Eatonualive281 like this.
  13. y2k2gt

    y2k2gt 2V PoWereD Established Member

    Messages:
    1,053
    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ohio
    I make a mount for the 7" And 12" screens. They are $45 shipped.
    I bought my 12" Holley dash from Finish Line.
    d3bajg-5hJBHpc5jsnex95LowtpbZFmh47OVzJQg350oclzJlzpKDNpwl81lS16DZUNU12q7IWcXi5DO7A=w1257-h942-no.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2019 at 9:16 AM
    badcobra likes this.

Share This Page